On This Page

Quality Assurance and you!

Lifelong learning is essential to nursing practice. This is a guiding principle that the College’s Quality Assurance (QA) Program is based on.

The College is responsible to administer a QA Program to ensure that nurses in Ontario reflect on their practice and maintain their competence.

There are three components to the QA Program:

  • Self-Assessment, which includes practice reflection and developing and maintaining learning goals in relation to your learning needs;
  • Practice Assessment; and
  • Peer Assessment

All nurses are required to participate in Self-Assessment.  However, only a subset of nurses are randomly selected each year to complete Practice Assessment, which includes the Peer Assessment component. To learn more about each component, read our FAQs about quality assurance here.

You can access your 2018 Learning Plan at any time on myQA.

If you are selected for Practice Assessment, a letter will be mailed to you from the College.  You will have to submit your updated Learning Plan and complete multiple-choice tests based on College practice documents by a specified deadline date. In addition, some Nurse Practitioners are selected for a clinical assessment.

Go to the QA section to keep up-to-date and to find resources you need to update your Learning Plan and complete Practice Assessment (if required).

Page last reviewed March 22, 2018